Hello world!

With only two months till “lift-off”, this diary is long overdue.  My dream of spending time on Maatsuyker Island should become a reality in December this year.

At the end of March 2011, I had a fortuitous meeting with a friend from a few years ago, Robyn, and she told me about the Arts Tasmania “artist-in-residence” program in various locations, including Maatsuyker Island.  Arts Tasmania runs the program, but artists outside Tasmania can apply to Tasmania’s Parks and Wildlife Service to take up a self-funded residency.  I applied in April, and was lucky enough to be accepted to be artist-in-residence on Maatsuyker Island during Dec 2011 and Jan 2012.

In September 2011, my friend Marsha, a writer, decided she would like to join me. Her application was also accepted.

The people that I dealt with in Tas PWS were very enthusiastic and encouraging, friendly and helpful.  Hats off to them!

So, my plans for the residency:  to study and botanically illustrate –  paint (watercolour) and draw (graphite) – as many of the native flowering plants as I can in the time available.  I am told Dec and Jan are wonderful months for flowers on Maatsuyker.  Robyn was kind enough to give me her  collection of beautiful flower images from those months in 2010/11 to study.

My other plans for the visit:

> Bird-watching

> Weather-watching

> Aurora-spotting

> Star-gazing

> Photography

This entry was posted in The dream. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

